Special Education Eligibility

A student ages 3 through 22, having one or more of the following 13 Federally- defined disabling conditions that adversely affect his or her educational performance may be eligible to receive special education services:

  • Autism
  • Deaf-blindness
  • Deafness
  • Hearing impairment
  • Intellectual disability
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairment
  • Other health impairment
  • Serious emotional disturbance
  • Specific learning disability
  • Speech or language impairment
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Visual Impairment

Eligibility is determined through an assessment process that identifies one or more impairments that prevent a student from achieving at his/her potential.